Our Elimination Final history

Season 2014-15 (3 May 2015): Wellington Phoenix 0 – 2 Melbourne City FC

In the 2014-15 Finals Series, Melbourne City stunned Wellington Phoenix with a 2-0 Elimination Final win over Ernie Merrick’s side at Westpac Stadium.

City took the lead in the 61st minute when former Socceroo Josh Kennedy wrong-footed Glen Moss in goal, by turning in Aaron Mooy’s low drive. 

The visitors doubled their lead 11 minutes later when Harry Novillo’s fierce strike took a deflection off Ben Sigmund, which then hit the post and rebounded off the back of Moss and into the back of his own net. The upset result set up a blockbuster Semi-Final with city rivals Melbourne Victory.


Season 2015-16 (17 April 2016): Melbourne City FC 2 – 0 Perth Glory

A fourth-place league finish in season 2015-16 saw Melbourne City FC earn their first home final in the Club’s short history.

City marked the momentous occasion with a 2-0 win over Perth Glory, following a truly remarkable individual performance by record-breaking striker Bruno Fornaroli.

Fornaroli opened the scoring in the 40th minute with a jaw-dropping bicycle kick after he met Aaron Mooy’s corner, before doubling the home teams advantage with a spectacular free-kick in the 76th minute – his 25th goal of the season.


Season 2016-17 (23 April 2017): Melbourne City 0 – 2 Perth Glory

On the 23rd April 2017, Melbourne City FC suffered a disappointing 2-0 loss to Perth Glory at AAMI Park in the Club’s third successive Elimination Final appearance.

Spanish maestro Diego Castro opened the scoring in the 16th minute, before setting-up Joel Chianese 14 minutes later to double Perth’s lead.

A rampant opening 30 minutes from the Glory proved to be too much for the home side, whose attempted comeback in the last 20 minutes of play proved to be unsuccessful.